I Yogi, Sannyasi, Jnani 1-7
II Their Approach to Action 8-12
III Jnani Defined 13-15
Pathway to Enlightenment 16-21
V Prerequistes to Meditation 22-26
VI Meditation Introduced 27-29

I. Worldly, materialistic people are termed Bhogis. They are, as the name suggests, only interested in acquiring and enjoying the world. The three categories of spiritual people are Yogi, Sannyasi and Jnani. The Yogi is the spiritual novice who has turned inward but is still laden with desires. He has to practise the path of action to reduce his vasanas. The Sannyasi has divested his personality of desires and is only interested in Realisation. He needs the path of knowledge to remove the last few vasanas. The Jnani is the enlightened One with no vasanas.

II. The Jnani has merged with Atman. Actions go on. He is the unaffected witness of his own actions. The Sannyasi dedicates his actions to Brahman and acts like a lotus leaf in water – untouched by the vagaries of the world. The Yogi acts for self-purification.

III. The Jnani acts dynamically, renouncing desire and anxiety for the fruit of action. He is self-controlled and paripurna, totally fulfilled. He is not pressurized to do anything or go anywhere. So he neither acts nor causes any activity.

IV. As you focus on Atman and direct the body, mind and intellect to That, your vasanas gradually go and you reach the state of non-return. The state of Realisation is one with no vasanas or ignorance. You have equal vision towards all. You have no more re-birth. You find happiness in the Self and obtain eternal Bliss, the goal of all humans.

V. The wise one who does not delight in sense contact, endures the force of desire, is happy within, is free from desire and anger, and rejoices in the welfare of all, gains total liberation.

VI. This portion is a precursor to the sixth chapter which is titled Dhyana Yoga, the Yoga of Meditation.